A memory to keep

I’ll never forget the moment when they softly began the chorus of ‘que sera, sera’. It was during goodbye drinks for two friends at an Irish bar of all places and we were split into different tables. At my table, there was the chef, the public diplomacy officer, and the army commander. I was feeling a bit depressed, wondering about life and future and possibilities and choices and was talking quite a bit – even more than usual. But them, in their infinite patience and wisdom, listened to me, took my worries in as their own, and consoled me… don’t try to control every detail, life is a river which moves around all obstacles, there are milestones but don’t force yourself to conform to society’s expectations… then suddenly, que sera, sera. If I ever feel despair concerning humanity in general, I will remember that moment and love again.

Leave a Reply

