A lesson in learning

The little man who was humming before in this Pakxe guesthouse commented how hard I worked when I went upstairs for mosquito repellent. He pointed to my spot which I have since returned to, and made typing motions with his hands. I told him how I was writing and wanted to jot down as much as I can remember and left him to his book. I thought it was an exam review book, much like the ones we used for the SATs or ACTs and didn’t bother to wonder why he would need them. A little while after I returned to my station, he came to ask about the pronunciation of the world ‘poor’. The thick book is in fact a language book to learn English, and in the lull between visitors he studiously bends his head over its pages. When was the last time we felt compelled to learn like that, not for an exam but for ourselves?

Leave a Reply

