On Our Way to the Future

Having a keyboard makes it exponentially easier to type. I’ve been away from mine for over two months and though it was available for the past three days, there was some sort of fear-avoidance in play because I stayed away from it. Because turning on of the computer means reality would come back with it. Though it was wonderful catching up with friends, going through emails and job postings and news didn’t entail nearly as much fun.

Oh, life. Oh, world. I’ve been asking for tips and advice from just about everyone along the way. One person said we’re never as smart as we are right now because our brain cells continue to diminish each day. Another said to do yoga because health – and flexibility – are incredibly important. The majority of advice I got (after lamenting about doom and gloom of The Future) state simply ‘do what you want’. If money weren’t an issue, if family pressures weren’t in play, if it were just the world, me, myself and I, what would I spend time doing? That’s what we should do. That should be our future and our goal. What are we interested in? Because no matter how obscure, others will be interested too. Is there something that we think needs to be changed? Then change it, work towards making an impact. Focus on a point in the future and move.

There are a million different things going through my head right now, from surprise that this blog has so many posts (looked back to make sure I wasn’t repeating myself, thank you for those who’ve liked and followed) to annoyance that Pistorius is dominating the headlines. I also want to ramble about the thinkeatsave campaign to reduce food waste and complain about Beijing air pollution. I also feel a sense of dread because The Future is descending and it’s nearly the end of February. Where will I be in a month and what will I be doing and how will I be funding… life? This is when all the mantras we should live by start repeating themselves: don’t sweat the small stuff, don’t worry about things that haven’t happened yet, focus on what you can change instead of what you can’t. One task at a time, one task at a time. Blog entry? Check.

Leave a Reply

